My Homemade カステラ Castella Sponge Cake

Hi everyone^_^
How are you doing?

As you look at the title, I made Castella Sponge Cake at home to kill time >.<
But .. but .. I don’t mean that this is the tutorial (step by step) to make Castella Sponge Cake, this is just how I made my fail cake but it was still kind of edible Castella Sponge Cake, lol
Okay, what is Castella Sponge Cake and why do I type in katakana?
カステラケーキ is Japanese cake which is common to make in every home in Japan.
And because I found in youtube that this is the easiest cake to make because you don’t have to use oven (but if you want, you can still use oven). This actually uses rice cooker.

DSC00719DSC00721

You know rice cooker is the easiest kitchen tool, right?
So, I made this cake.

First I will introduce what kind of tools I used:
1. Rice cooker
2. Scale
3. Electic mixer
4. Strainer
5. Large bowl
6. Saucepan
7. Spatula

DSC00724

The Ingredients:

1. 3 (three) eggs
2. 90 gr sugar
3. 90 gr cake flour
4. 2 tbsp milk (I chose milo chocolate milk)
5. 2 tbsp honey
6. Butter

DSC00722

Now step by step of making The Castella Sponge Cake:

1. Warm 2 tbsp of milk in a saucepan

DSC007252. Add 2 tbsp of honey and mix well

DSC007273. Place 3 eggs in a large bowl

DSC00729

DSC007304. Add sugar (use strainer)

DSC007325. Beat them with electric mixer until white and fluffy

DSC00735DSC007366. Add the milk mixture

DSC007387. Place the bowl over a pan of hot water

DSC007408. Mix it well

9. Add 90 gr of cake flour (use strainer)

DSC0074110. Gently cut through this mixture with spatula until combined

DSC0074211. Smear butter on the pot of the rice cooker

DSC0074312. Pour in the mixture

DSC00744

and place the pot in the rice cooker

13. Close the rice cooker and press “cake/kue” button

DSC00745

14. And it is done after 45 minutes cooking

Do you know what was the mistake? yeah because I used too many water when warming the milk >.< and it took too long to cook.
But it was done^^ and I could eat them. Here is the final result.
DSC00747

Thank you for reading^_^” good byeee

keiko,

xoxo

About Keiko

My sister and I run a Korea Cosmetic Online Shop .. Visit our store at www.facebook.com/glamourstairway For Order : (BB PIN : 2A37656F) (Email : glamour.stairway.shop@gmail.com OR keikoxoxo@yahoo.com) (SMS : (+62)81242282378) (LINE : keiko_xoxo) Based in Indonesia
This entry was posted in Everyday, Food & Travel, Home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Homemade カステラ Castella Sponge Cake

  1. yukiitheo says:

    duh bagi doooong kuenyaa >.<

Leave a Reply

